TCU’s Garrett Riley Wins Broyles Award


TCU offensive coordinator Garrett Riley. | Image by Matthew Visinsky/Getty Images

TCU offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Garrett Riley has been named the recipient of the 2022 Broyles Award, given annually to the top assistant football coach in the country for the past 27 years. Riley is TCU’s first-ever winner of the Broyles award.

Riley is the architect of one of the most potent offenses in college football, with the Horned Frogs ranking sixth nationally in scoring (40.3 points per game), 25th in rushing (200 yards per game) and passing (273 yards per game), and 16th in total offense (473 yards per game).

In Riley’s first season in Fort Worth, the TCU offense saw breakout seasons from running back Kendre Miller, wide receivers Derius Davis, Quentin Johnston, and Taye Barber, and, of course, Heisman finalist quarterback Max Duggan en route to a 12-1 record and the program’s first-ever College Football Playoff appearance.

His work has been instrumental in helping Duggan win the Johny Unitas Golden Arm Award and earning a trip to New York as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy. Duggan leads the Big 12 in passing efficiency (165.5), touchdown passes (30), passing yards (3,321), yards per attempt (9.0), and yards per completion (13.9).

Riley followed head coach Sonny Dykes from SMU to TCU in the offseason after two years in Dallas, with prior experience on the coaching staff at Appalachian State, Kansas, East Carolina, and Augustana College.

Riley spent two seasons at Texas Tech as a player before transferring to Stephen F. Austin, becoming part of the Southland Conference Championship-winning team in 2010.

He is also the younger brother of former Oklahoma head coach and current USC head coach Lincoln Riley, who previously won the Broyles Award as the offensive coordinator under Bob Stoops at Oklahoma.

The Broyles Award is named after former Arkansas football coach and athletic director Frank Broyles, who is largely credited for the national emergence of the Arkansas football program in the 1960s and 1970s. The Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation give the award, though the winner is chosen by a combination of broadcasters, writers, and Hall of Fame coaches.

Riley received the Broyles Award at a ceremony at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock, Arkansas, on Tuesday.

The other finalists for the award were Georgia offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Todd Monken, Michigan defensive coordinator Jesse Minter, Tennessee offensive coordinator and tight ends coach Alex Golesh, and Illinois defensive coordinator Ryan Walters.

If you enjoyed this article, please support us today!

Formed in 2021, we provide fact-based, non-partisan news. The Dallas Express is a non-profit organization funded by charitable support and advertising.

Please join us on the important journey to make Dallas a better place!

We welcome and appreciate comments on The Dallas Express as part of a healthy dialogue. We do ask that you be kind. Kind to each other and to everyone else in your comments. For more information, please refer to our Complete Comment Moderation Policy.

Subscribe to Comments
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments