Pro Football Hall of Fame Nominees

Dallas Cowboys' Tony Romo
Dallas Cowboys' Tony Romo | Image by Rob Carr/Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its list of modern-era players nominated for enshrinement as part of the Class of 2024 on Tuesday afternoon.

In total, 173 players have been nominated, and the list will be narrowed down to 15. The 15 modern-era finalists will be joined by four senior nominees, all of whom will be considered by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee just before the Super Bowl.

Nine former Dallas Cowboys are on the ballot: quarterback Tony Romo, running back Eddie George, fullback Daryl “Moose” Johnston, offensive lineman Nate Newton, defensive lineman La’Roi Glover, linebacker Keith Brooking, defensive backs Allen Rossum (also a Dallas Skyline High School alum) and Darren Woodson, and kicker Mike Vanderjagt.

Romo, Woodson, and Johnston are the most notable nominees, as players who spent most of their careers in Dallas, while many of the others joined the Cowboys later.

Other notable nominees include former quarterbacks Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, and Mike Vick; running backs Shaun Alexander, Mike Alstott, Tiki Barber, Warrick Dunn, Ricky Williams, and Fred Taylor; wide receivers Anquan Boldin, Donald Driver, and Torry Holt; and tight end Antonio Gates.

Offensive linemen T.J. Lang, Mark Schlereth, Jahri Evans, and Jeff Saturday are also nominated, as are defenders Julius Peppers, Dwight Freeney, Vince Wilfork, Lance Briggs, Teddy Bruschi, Kam Chancellor, Antonio Cromartie, Dre Bly, and Charles Tillman among others.

Former Denver Broncos linebacker Randy Gradishar, former New England Patriots, Chicago Bears, and Green Bay Packers lineman Steve McMichael, Dallas native and wide receiver for five different teams in the 1960s Art Powell, and former Detroit Lions and Pittsburgh Steelers coach Buddy Parker are the senior nominees.

Anywhere from four to nine will be selected for enshrinement and inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, in August 2024.

The complete list of nominees is available on the Pro Football Hall of Fame website.

Support our non-profit journalism

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *