2024 NFL Honors: Texans Come Up Big

NFL Honors
NFL Honors | Image by NFL

The 2024 NFL Honors are awarded to players who had stellar campaigns throughout the season, and this year, the list of honorees included several players with ties to the Lone Star State.

The Houston Texans were a surprise this season, coming off of back-to-back-to-back dismal seasons. The revamped team went 10-7, winning one short of their combined wins for the previous three seasons. The turnaround was largely a result of quarterback CJ Stroud, who came into the league in the 2023 draft and lit the field up every week.

Stroud was named the Offensive Rookie of the Year, snagging one of the most coveted awards. He became the first Houston Texan in franchise history to take the award after a rookie campaign that saw him throw for 4,108 yards and boast the league’s best touchdown-to-interception ratio. His name was often in rarified company with comparisons to Drew Brees, joining the likes of Tom Brady and Joe Montana as the only QBs to lead the league in yards and TD-INT ratios.

Stroud was joined by fellow rookie Will Anderson, who took the Defensive Rookie of the Year award. It is only the fourth time in league history that both offensive and defensive awards went to the same team. Anderson displayed his dangerousness throughout the year as an edge rusher, accumulating seven sacks over the season, including two games with two sacks.

Former Texans star Andre Johnson was also elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, becoming the first Texans player to be inducted. He was with the team from 2003-2014 and was a first-ballot choice.

“Being selected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame means everything to me,” Johnson said. “I am so honored to be the first Texan to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame and can’t wait to continue to represent this organization as they continue their success.”

Baltimore Ravens QB Lamar Jackson took home the NFL MVP award, the second time in his career having done so. San Francisco 49ers running back Christian McCafferty was the Offensive Player of the Year. He still has one more game to show off his stuff. Cleveland Browns defensive end Miles Garrett was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

It was no surprise that no player from the Dallas Cowboys made the cut after an up-and-down season and crushing playoff loss to end the year. Several defensive players were up for consideration, according to The Dallas Express, but could not overcome the opposition to snag any awards this year. Even former star safety Darren Woodson was snubbed for his second opportunity at the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Support our non-profit journalism

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading on the app
Expand article