Dallas, TX
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
English Español

Fine Print

English Español

Voting For MLB Mid-Summer Classic Underway


All-Star Game sign at Dodgers Stadium. | Image by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Donate to Dallas Express to Keep it Free

Phase 1 of Major League Baseball’s All-Star Game voting will conclude on Thursday, before Phase 2 commences on July 5.

The All-Star Game voting process is divided into two phases, the MLB said in an update on Monday.

In Phase 1, which will end at 1:59 p.m. EDT Thursday, fans vote on players traditionally, choosing one player from the American League and one from the National League for every position except those in the outfield, for which fans pick three players per league. Votes can be entered up to five times every 24 hours.

The league’s overall top-voted players in each position will be automatically awarded starting spots in the All-Star Game, bypassing Phase 2 entirely.

In Phase 2, which begins July 5 and ends July 8, fans vote for their favorite of Phase 1’s two top-voted players — not counting the top vote-getter, who is already guaranteed a spot — from each position (except the outfield ranks, where voters will choose from the top six).

The winners of the second phase will then be starters in the All-Star Game.

On July 8, ESPN will reveal the starters, followed by the full rosters on July 10.

New York Yankees slugger Aaron Judge and Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Mookie Betts currently lead the votes. Betts, however, is on the injured list with a rib issue and could likely miss the Midsummer Classic at his home stadium.

Most positional leaders have remained the same since the first update, with just one exception: Cleveland Guardians third baseman José Ramírez has overtaken Boston Red Sox third baseman Rafael Devers. Ramírez had earlier trailed Devers by more than 16,000 votes.

The Dodgers will host the Midsummer Classic on July 19 for the fourth time in franchise history, including the third time in Los Angeles and the second time at Dodger Stadium, which last hosted the event in 1980.

Previously, the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum hosted the second All-Star Game of the 1959 season, and Ebbets Field in Brooklyn hosted the 1949 All-Star Game.

Here’s a look at the current top two at each position (and top six in the outfield) as of Wednesday.

National League

  • Catcher: Willson Contreras (Cubs), 1,372,780 votes; Travis d’Arnaud (Braves), 880,963 votes.
  • First base: Paul Goldschmidt (Cardinals), 1,562,027 votes; Pete Alonso (Mets), 958,777 votes.
  • Second base: Jazz Chisholm Jr. (Marlins), 1,066,927 votes; Ozzie Albies (Braves), 984,846 votes.
  • Third base: Manny Machado (Padres), 1,563,188 votes; Nolan Arenado (Cardinals), 977,485 votes.
  • Shortstop: Trea Turner (Dodgers), 1,369,759 votes; Dansby Swanson (Braves), 1,069,312 votes.
  • Outfield: Mookie Betts (Dodgers), 2,270,566 votes; Ronald Acuña Jr. (Braves), 2,197,684 votes; Joc Pederson (Giants), 1,090,260 votes; Starling Marte (Mets), 765,362 votes; Juan Soto (Nationals), 679,511 votes; Adam Duvall (Braves), 580,110 votes.
  • Designated hitter: Bryce Harper (Phillies), 1,740,935 votes; William Contreras (Braves), 976,038 votes.

American League

  • Catcher: Alejandro Kirk (Blue Jays), 1,857,670 votes; Jose Trevino (Yankees), 695,932 votes.
  • First base: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Blue Jays), 1,624,228 votes; Ty France (Mariners), 880,530 votes.
  • Second base: Jose Altuve (Yankees), 1,156,474 votes; Santiago Espinal (Blue Jays), 943,125 votes.
  • Third base: José Ramírez (Guardians), 1,219,704 votes; Rafael Devers (Red Sox), 1,185,906 votes.
  • Shortstop: Bo Bichette (Blue Jays), 1,084,794 votes; Tim Anderson (White Sox), 844,921 votes.
  • Outfield: Aaron Judge (Yankees), 2,433,088 votes; Mike Trout (Angels) 2,134,471 votes; George Springer (Blue Jays), 1,048,403 votes; Giancarlo Stanton (Yankees) 814,706 votes; Taylor Ward (Angels), 763,939 votes; Lourdes Gurriel Jr. (Blue Jays), 672,811 votes.
  • Designated hitter: Yordan Alvarez (Astros), 1,374,876 votes; Shohei Ohtani (Angels), 965,932 votes.

Fans can continue to vote here    

We welcome and appreciate comments on The Dallas Express as part of a healthy dialogue. We do ask that you be kind. Kind to each other and to everyone else in your comments. For more information, please refer to our Complete Comment Moderation Policy.

Subscribe to Comments
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments