Early Voting for TX Primary Runoff Elections Underway

Early Voting Sign | Image by ErnieJourneys/Shutterstock
Early Voting Sign | Image by ErnieJourneys/Shutterstock

Voting has officially begun for the 2024 Texas primary runoffs, with the early voting period running from Monday through Friday ahead of the May 28 election next week.

The majority of primary elections were settled on March 5, but races in which no candidate received more than 50% of the votes cast are slated to see head-to-head matchups.

Although the Lone Star State has open primary elections, those who voted during the March primaries are only eligible to cast a ballot in the runoff elections for the same party primary they voted in two months ago, per The Texas Tribune.

However, those who did not cast a ballot during the primary election can vote in either the Republican or Democratic runoffs.

There will be a total of 17 runoff elections taking place for those seeking to represent North Texas in some manner, according to NBC 5 DFW.

The list of runoff elections in the Republican Party is as follows:

  • Collin County Republican Party Chair: Shelby Williams vs. Ellen Loveless
  • U.S. Representative District 12: Craig Goldman vs. John C. O’Shea
  • U.S. Representative District 32: David Blewett vs. Darrell Day
  • State Board Of Education, District 12: Pam Little (I) vs. Jamie Kohlmann
  • State Senator, District 30: Brent Hagenbuch vs. Jace Yarbrough
  • State Representative District 1: Gary Vandeaver (I) vs. Chris Spencer
  • State Representative District 33: Justin Holland (I) vs. Katrina Pierson
  • State Representative District 58: Dewayne Burns (I) vs. Helen Kerwin
  • State Representative District 61: Frederick Frazier (I) vs. Keresa Richardson
  • State Representative District 64: Lynn Stucky (I) vs. Andy Hopper
  • State Representative District 91: Stephanie Klick (I) vs. David Lowe
  • State Representative District 97: Cheryl Bean vs. John Mcqueeney
  • District Judge, 401st Judicial District: Kim Laseter vs. Joel Petrazio
  • District Judge, 443rd Judicial District: Grace Pandithurai vs. Greg Wilhelm

The list of runoff elections for the Democratic Primary is as follows:

  • Dallas County Sheriff: Marian Brown (I) vs. Lupe Valdez
  • State Senator, District 30: Michael Braxton vs. Dale Frey
  • State Representative District 97: Diane Symons vs. Carlos Walker

Although not located in North Texas, one of the most notable runoff elections will determine whether Texas House Speaker Dade Phelan (R-Beaumont) retains his role in the legislature. He faces challenger David Covey to represent House District 21.

Covey received 46.3% of the votes cast during the primary on March 5, while Phelan trailed close behind with 43.2% of votes received, as previously reported by The Dallas Express.

The challenger has marketed himself as being very different from Phelan, describing himself as “a true conservative champion for Southeast Texas” and telling The Dallas Express that voters want “someone who is accessible and who is focused, not on building their own business, but who is focused on building the people and serving the people in this district.”

Phelan has received criticism from his peers for appointing eight Democrats to serve as chairs of the chamber’s committees, leaving Republicans to chair the 26 remaining committees, according to The Texas Tribune.

Rep. Tom Oliverson (R-Cypress) has already announced plans to challenge Phelan for the role of Texas House speaker in the event the embattled lawmaker beats Covey, telling reporters “there would be no Democratic chairs in the House” if he gets selected, as reported by DX.

Support our non-profit journalism

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading on the app
Expand article