The NBA playoffs brings back the play-in tournament

During a time where things are starting to feel normal and on schedule, the NBA instituted something new that carried into this season. They brought back the play-in tournament to determine the seventh and eighth seed teams in both conferences.

They included the 7th-10th seeded teams in each conference. The teams included this year: Boston Celtics, Washington Wizards, Indiana Pacers, and Charlotte Hornets (East) and Los Angeles Lakers, Golden State Warriors, Memphis Grizzlies and San Antonio Spurs (West).

This year’s playoffs include teams that you expect to see every season and some teams who made a reappearance after a long playoff drought. The New York Knicks are making their first appearance since the 2012-13. The Washington Wizards are back since their last appearance in 2017-2018. The Atlanta Hawks are back in the playoffs after rebuilding their team through the draft, trades and free agency. Despite the changes that the Suns have endured and growing they have finally made an appearance since the 2009-10 season.

The playoffs will be interesting this year with a lot of players moving to different teams during free agency and the buyout market. The teams are finally becoming even matched with talents as it is spreading across both conferences. As the playoffs have already started, let’s look forward to seeing who comes out on top, proceeds to the next rounds, and be crowned the NBA Champs.

Support our non-profit journalism

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading on the app
Expand article