Local College Players Enter Transfer Portal


Football on Football field | Image by Shutterstock

College football’s first transfer portal window for the 2023 season officially opened on Monday, allowing players with remaining eligibility to freely explore opportunities at other schools.

The portal was created in the fall of 2018 as a way to further organize the process of players changing schools and give players opportunities to contribute elsewhere.

Initially, most players had to wait a year before they were eligible to play at their new schools, but that rule was removed in April 2021.

While a player may choose to enter the portal, it does not necessarily mean that player will end up transferring, as they do have the option to withdraw and return to their original teams.

The NCAA recently introduced the concept of transfer windows, which are certain periods of time when players are allowed to enter the portal. The windows regulate entry and avoid chaotic situations.

The first of these is now open and will last until January 18, 2023. The second window will open on May 1, 2023, and close on May 15, 2023.

Once in the portal, players can commit to a school at any time. Coaches are free to contact any player in the portal without penalty, but they do have to follow the standard NCAA guidelines that they would when recruiting high school players.

Here are the players who have announced their intentions to transfer from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools in Texas, according to the recruiting services and databases that track transfer portal entries.

Baylor University

QB Kyron Drones

RB Josh Fleeks

WR Seth Jones

S Devin Neal

University of Houston 

QB Holman Edwards

WR Cody Jackson

OL Carson Walker

OL Joshua Atkins

OL Almarion Crim

EDGE Rafal Szymanski

CB Mark Wilson

University of North Texas

WR Lattrell Neville

Rice University

LB Garrett Braden


RB TJ McDaniel

WR Calvin Wiggins

DL Darren Brown

EDGE Trevion Sneed

S Chase Cromartie


no one reported yet

University of Texas – Austin 

QB Hudson Card

WR Troy Omeire

OT Andrej Karic

EDGE Prince Dorbah

EDGE Derrick Harris Jr

LB Devin Richardson

CB Jamier Johnson

S JD Coffey

Texas A&M 

QB Haynes King

QB Eli Stowers

RB LJ Johnson

WR Chase Lane

TE Blake Smith

OT PJ Williams

EDGE Tunmise Adeleye

EDGE Elijah Jeudy

EDGE Donell Harris

DL Dallas Walker IV

DL Marcus Burris

LB Tarian Lee Jr

LB Andre White Jr

LB Ish Harris

CB Denver Harris

CB Brian George

CB Myles Jones

CB Josh Moten

K Caden Davis

Texas State University

QB Layne Hatcher

DL Levi Bell

CB Jarron Morris

S Tory Spears

Texas Tech

QB Donovan Smith

LB Derrick Lewis

DB Tavares Elston

University of Texas – El Paso

OT Jeremiah Byers

University of Texas – San Antonio

RB Tye Edwards

As alluded to above, more players could join these groups while the window is open. Over 1,000 players entered the transfer portal during the first day, according to estimates by 247Sports, and more are expected in the coming days.

If you enjoyed this article, please support us today!

Formed in 2021, we provide fact-based, non-partisan news. The Dallas Express is a non-profit organization funded by charitable support and advertising.

Please join us on the important journey to make Dallas a better place!

We welcome and appreciate comments on The Dallas Express as part of a healthy dialogue. We do ask that you be kind. Kind to each other and to everyone else in your comments. For more information, please refer to our Complete Comment Moderation Policy.

Subscribe to Comments
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments