Eight from Texas Colleges Named All-Americans


Texas running back Bijan Robinson | Image by Colin E. Braley/AP

The Associated Press (AP) has announced its Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) All-American teams for the 2022-23 college football season.

Three teams were announced with players throughout the country, and the list includes eight players from Texas colleges.

Texas running back Bijan Robinson was named a first-team All-American. Robinson is probably the most high-profile Texas player to make the first team. The junior entered the season 21st on the school’s all-time rushing yards list and added another 1,580 yards and 18 touchdowns this season on his way to winning the Doak Walker Award as the nation’s best running back.

TCU defensive back Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson made the defense on the first team. He has been a critical contributor for the Horned Frogs since he stepped on campus in 2019, and this is his third consecutive All-Big-12 season. Hodges-Tomlinson was an AP second-team All-American in 2020, finished second on the team in pass breakups and interceptions, and won the Jim Thorpe award as the nation’s best defensive back.

TCU quarterback and Heisman Trophy runner-up Max Duggan is the second-team quarterback. Duggan’s story has become widely known after he replaced Chandler Morris earlier this year en route to a historic season. He led several come-from-behind victories and threw for 3,321 yards and 30 touchdowns with just four interceptions while winning many awards during his senior season.

TCU offensive lineman Steve Avila is also a second-team All-American after shifting from center to guard this season and continuing to perform at an elite level.

Other players on the second team include Texas Tech defensive end Tyree Wilson — a Texas A&M transfer and projected first-round pick in the 2023 NFL Draft — and SMU wide receiver Rashee Rice, who broke the school’s single-season record for receiving yards.

AP All-America third-team honorees include Texas linebacker Jaylan Ford and Houston wide receiver Nathaniel Dell. Ford had over 100 tackles and led the Big 12 in forced fumbles. Dell led the American Athletic Conference (AAC) in receptions and receiving touchdowns and finished second in receiving yards (just one yard behind Rice).

Kansas State RB Deuce Vaughn (Cedar Ridge) and Arkansas LB Drew Sanders (Denton Ryan) were also named to the first team.

Heisman Trophy winner and former Oklahoma quarterback Caleb Williams was named the quarterback of the first team. SEC defensive linemen Will Anderson (Alabama) and Jalen Carter (Georgia) highlight the first-team defense.

The Big Ten led all conferences with 21 players on the three teams. The SEC had 14, the Big 12 had nine, and the AAC had five players across the three teams.

If you enjoyed this article, please support us today!

Formed in 2021, we provide fact-based, non-partisan news. The Dallas Express is a non-profit organization funded by charitable support and advertising.

Please join us on the important journey to make Dallas a better place!

We welcome and appreciate comments on The Dallas Express as part of a healthy dialogue. We do ask that you be kind. Kind to each other and to everyone else in your comments. For more information, please refer to our Complete Comment Moderation Policy.

Subscribe to Comments
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments