Texas Health Hospital a Comprehensive Stroke Facility

Texas Health Dallas Redesignated as Comprehensive Stroke Facility
Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas sign outside of the facility. | Image by Texas Health Resources

The Texas Department of State Health Services has extended the honor of redesignation as a level one comprehensive stroke facility to Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas.

“Our Comprehensive Stroke Center at Texas Health Dallas, as well as those in Fort Worth and Plano, offers North Texans advanced stroke care as soon as they enter our emergency doors, all the way to rehabilitation after discharge,” said Jim Parobek, president of Texas Health Dallas. 

The Texas Health Dallas Comprehensive Stroke Program consists of a neurovascular medical director on the medical staff, nurses, and therapists who have received specialized training in care and personalized educational and support programs. 

The program also has a neurosurgical intensive care unit, a neuro-interventional suite, and cutting-edge automated stroke imaging technology. With this specialized technology and staff, patients have access to high-acuity stroke treatments like IV thrombolysis and endovascular mechanical thrombectomy 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

“Thanks to medical advancements, people are living longer after stroke, which is good, but certain stroke risk factors, such as high blood pressure and Type 2 diabetes, are becoming more common among younger and middle-aged adults,” said Samir Shah, M.D., a neurologist on the Texas Health Dallas medical staff and Comprehensive Stroke Program medical director.

The American Heart Association ranks stroke number five among all causes of death in the U.S. and number six as the leading cause of death in Texas.

“This redesignation reflects our commitment to a robust neuroscience program aimed at treating complex neurological diseases and stroke conditions immediately and efficiently. No matter your age, we want to help you get back to life as quickly as possible,” says Shah. 

One of the highest honors a hospital in the United States can receive, this designation is valid for two years. The distinction is based on strict guidelines provided by the American Stroke Association and the Brain Attack Coalition. 

Additionally, it covers the entire gamut of stroke care, including diagnosis, treatment, rehabilitation, and education, and it establishes precise metrics for assessing results to enhance care continuously.

This story was pitched to The Dallas Express by one of our readers. Do you have a story you think should be covered or a tip on breaking news? Submit your idea here.

Support our non-profit journalism

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading on the app
Expand article