Texas Health Alliance Receives Certification for Stroke Care

Texas Health Alliance Facility
Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Alliance Receives Stroke Certification | Texas Health Website

Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Alliance was recently recognized for its primary stroke center standards. The Joint Commission and the American Heart Association have awarded Texas Health the Advanced Primary Stroke Center certification, a prestigious award celebrating the hospital for maintaining quality while following guidelines to assist stroke patients.

According to the American Heart Association, someone in the United States dies from a stroke every 3.5 minutes. In the state of Texas, strokes are the No.6 leading cause of death.

“This certification simply confirms we are ready, willing, and able to care for individuals when they arrive at our door,” said Clint Abernathy, president of Texas Health Alliance.

“It’s truly an honor to earn such a significant certification, but the accolades don’t drive us to excel,” said Melissa Schilling, M.S.N., R.N., CEN, Trauma-Stroke Program manager for Texas Health Alliance. “A patient’s health and well-being are paramount, and following rigorous, clinical guidelines allows hospital employees and physicians on the medical staff to provide not just evidence-based care but consistent, quality care. When that’s the ultimate goal, we are doing what matters most to us and to our patients.”

The certification also applauds “healthcare organizations that provide clinical programs for stroke patients and evaluates how organizations use clinical outcomes and performance measures to identify opportunities to improve care, as well as to educate and prepare patients and their caregivers for discharge,” states the Texas Health press release.

The Advanced Primary Stroke Center Certification began in 2003 and has been awarded to Joint-Commission-accredited hospitals every two years. Each hospital is critiqued under guidelines set by the American Heart Association regarding strokes and recommendations by the Brain Attack Coalition for primary stroke centers.

The Joint Commission has four offerings that hospitals can receive in advanced stroke certifications. Texas Health Alliance earned the Primary Stroke Center certification, which the Joint Commission awards to hospitals providing the care components necessary to achieve long-term success in patient outcomes.

“When patients need continued care after a stroke, empowering resources, including comprehensive rehabilitation services, are available on the Texas Health Alliance campus,” Abernathy said. “That extended care is just one important component to our mission and helps us establish a lifelong connection with our community.”

To learn more about Texas Health stroke care, click here.

Support our non-profit journalism

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Continue reading on the app
Expand article