On Tuesday May 25, Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price casted an early ballot in the city’s June 5 Joint Runoff Elections, which include the race between Deborah Peoples and Mattie Parker to decide her successor.

Besides the race to decide who will take over the Fort Worth mayor’s office, four city council seats are also on the line, according to CultureMap Fort Worth. 

Price, who has served the City of Fort Worth as mayor for over a decade, announced earlier this year that should would be retiring and would not be seeking reelection.  

“It’s always a pleasure to vote at the Tarrant County Plaza Building and visit with the kind and helpful poll workers at that location,” Price said in a May 25 Facebook Post. “This has been my favorite voting spot all the way back to my tax assessor-collector days.”

In the May 1 election, Peoples garnered 34% of the vote while Parker received 31%, both well short of the 50% majority necessary to avoid a runoff election. Candidates for four city council seats also failed to receive a majority vote and face runoff elections, according to the city’s official election results from May 1.

The runoff elections for city council seats include District 6, which is between incumbent Jungus Jordan who earned 44% of the vote in the election earlier this month and Jared Williams who received 34%; District 7 between current council member Zeb Pent who previously received 33% and Leonard Firestone with 28%; District 8 between incumbent council member Kelly Allen Gray who earned 46% of the vote in a tight race against Christopher Nettles who received 44% of the vote and District 9 between incumbent Elizabeth Beck who received 43% of the previous vote and Fernando Peralta with 13%.

The runoff elections will also decide between Jim Ross and Michael Glaspie, who will take over the Arlington mayor’s office and replace current mayor Jeff Williams who has reached the end of his term. During the May 1 election, Arlington received 48% percent of the vote, just short of the necessary majority, and Glaspie received 21%.

Early voting runs through June 1 while the runoff election is to occur on June 5.